The 2016 Directors Award

MRC Unit The Gambia (MRCG) is proud to announce that two scientists, one support staff, one nurse and the Hormonal and Epigenetic Regulators of Growth (HERO-G) field team received the 2016 Directors Awards on the 9th December 2016 at the MRCG in Fajara. In celebrating The Unit’s achievements, these awards offer the Directors the opportunity to recognise MRCG employees for their exceptional contribution to The Unit.


Research Leader of Tomorrow, Dr Effua Usuf

Welcoming staff, The Unit Director, Professor Umberto D’Alessandro, expressed delight in honouring individuals who have demonstrated remarkable leadership and a great example to everyone, not just at the main site in Fajara and the Field stations but also within the local communities. “Despite the challenges 2016 presented, The Unit is steadfast in achieving its overreaching scientific vision to contribute to the post-2015 sustainable development agenda by producing evidence-based research to improve health in West Africa and beyond”, he added.


Science Support winner, Njilan Johnson

The awards were in five categories; the winner of the 2016 ‘Research Leader of Tomorrow’ was Dr Effua Usuf, for demonstrating exceptional promise in terms of independent thinking. Njilan Johnson won ‘Science Support’ for outstanding merit in facilitating an efficient, timely delivery of our science. Dr Anna Roca won the ‘Inspirational Leader Award’ for being a leader who inspires and motivates her team. The ‘G.E.M. Award’ (Going the Extra Mile) went to Edrisa Sinjanka for going beyond the call of duty while the HERO-G field team was declared the winner of the ‘Outstanding Team’. The runner–ups for each category are Sukai Ceesay, Caroline Potin-Sambou, Bai Lamin Dondeh, Lawrence Gibba and Protecting From Pneumococcus in Early Life (PROPEL) team.


Outstanding Team – The Hormonal and Epigenetic Regulators of Growth (HERO-G) field team

Chaired by Badou M Gaye, the day also featured the presentation of ‘Long Service Awards’ to eight staffs for their continuous service to The Unit for more than 30 years. Joan Vives Tomas, Director of Operations presented the awards to Kairaba Kanyi, Ebou Lamin Jarjou, Ida Jallow Manneh, Lamin Manneh, Abdoulie Jatta, Awa Kinteh, Sukai Sambou and Baba Ebrima Kurang.


Inspirational Leader, Dr Anna Roca

Also presenting ‘Best Ideas Awards’ in commemoration of WQM 2016 to winners Musa Jarju, seconded by Fatoumatta Ceesay and Caroline Potin Sambou was Quality Manager, Yai Louise Bensouda. She thanked the participants for their immense contribution to improving The Unit’s processes and services.

The Unit Director, Professor Umberto D’Alessandro congratulated each award recipient for their dedication and exemplary service to The Unit and thanked the selection panel Dr Olumuyiwa Owolabi (Fajara), Pa Cheboh Saine (Basse) and Dr Rowena Neville (Keneba) who had the difficult task of sifting through the nominations and reaching consensus on the winners of the five categories.